Led On Line
Presentazione - About us
Novita' - What's new
Lededizioni Home Page Ricerca - Search
Catalogo - Catalogue
Per contattarci - Contacts
Per gli Autori - For the Authors
Statistiche - Statistics
Cookie Policy
Privacy Policy

Il divieto di patti successorii e gli acquisti a causa di morte nel diritto romano

Pierfrancesco Arces


It is common to find in civil law treatises the assertion that the prohibition of agreements as to succession stands in continuity with Roman law, as has been argued by a large part of scholars in this discipline, in which, however, there is no lack of different views. On the basis of a careful analysis of the sources, indeed, several studies restore the problem to its historical dimension and considerably circumscribe its range. In this perspective, this essay just considers the range of the expression ‘mortis causa capere’, used by classical jurists to indicate a particular category of asset purchases, determined by transactions arranged with a view to one’s death. Such transactions do not qualify as wills, and are evidently constructed in a contractual dimension. Emblematic, in this sense, is the example of the donatio mortis causa, the development of whose doctrine in relation to the mortis causa capere seems to have to be traced back to the authority of Julian, which emerges repeatedly – still in the Severan period – in jurisprudential fragments not free from contradictions and obscurities, for the most part collected in title XXXIX.6 of the Justinian’s Digest. The examination of the texts allows to retrace the history of the mentioned Julian influence on the jurists of the following ages and pushes to a further deepening of the research on the relationship between the reflection of the prudentes and the authoritative production of the considered field of law.



Patti successori; inheritance agreements; acquisti a causa di morte; donazioni; donationes mortis causa; testamento; will; diritto ereditario; Ancient Rome; diritto romano; Roman law; Romanistic studies; römisches Recht; derecho romano; diritti antichi

Copyright (©) 2021 Pierfrancesco Arces – Editorial format and Graphical layout: copyright (©) LED Edizioni Universitarie

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Rivista di diritto romano
Registered by Tribunale di Milano (13/05/2011 - n. 272)
Online ISSN 1720 3694 - Print ISSN 2039 9677

Direttore responsabile / Executive Editor: Iole Fargnoli
Comitato editoriale / Editorial Staff: Pierfrancesco Arces (Università degli Studi del Piemonte Orientale “Amedeo Avogadro”) – Stefano Barbati (Università degli Studi di Torino) – Filippo Bonin (Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro)Linda De Maddalena (Universität Bern) – Monica Ferrari (Università degli Studi di Milano Bicocca) – Lorenzo Lanti (Università degli Studi di Milano) – Sabrina Lo Iacono (Università degli Studi di Milano) – Gianluca Mainino (Università degli Studi di Pavia) – Milan Milutin (Universitas Studiorum Neoplantensis, Novi Sad) – Saverio Masuelli (Università degli Studi di Torino) – Renato Perani (Università degli Studi di Milano) – Giulia Aurora Radice (Università degli Studi di Milano) – Enrico Sciandrello (Università degli Studi di Torino) – Raffaella Siracusa (Università degli Studi di Torino) – Manfredi Zanin (Universität Bern)
Comitato scientifico / Editorial Board: José Luis Alonso (Universität Zürich) – Jean Andreau (École des hautes études en sciences sociales, Paris) – Pietro Cobetto Ghiggia (Università degli Studi del Molise) – Giovanna Coppola Bisazza (Università degli Studi di Messina) Monica De Simone (Università degli Studi di Palermo) – Elio Dovere (Università degli Studi di Napoli Parthenope) – Giuseppe Falcone (Università degli Studi di Palermo) – Thomas Finkenauer (Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen) – Francesca Lamberti (Università del Salento) – Andrea Lovato (Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro) – Giovanni Luchetti (Alma Mater Studiorum Università di Bologna) – Francesco Lucrezi (Università degli Studi di Salerno) – Massimo Miglietta (Università degli Studi di Trento) – Francesco Milazzo (Università degli Studi di Catania) – Malina Nikolova Novkirishka-Stoyanova (Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski”) – Marco Pavese (Università degli Studi di Genova) – Stefania Pietrini (Università degli Studi di Siena) – Giunio Rizzelli (Università degli Studi di Foggia) – Thomas Rüfner (Universität Trier) – Boudewijn Sirks (University of Oxford) – Armando Torrent (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Madrid) – Andreas Wacke (Universität zu Köln) – Zhao Yi (Soochow University)

Referee List

© 2001-2023 LED Edizioni Universitarie di Lettere Economia Diritto